Medical Scholars Program

The Prisma Health Medical Scholars Program launched in February of 2014. The five-week program is by invitation only and is designed to bring local business and community leaders together to learn about the healthcare industry, issues facing the Upstate community and how Prisma Health is transforming health care.

Topics, Dates and Locations

Friday, September 7, 2018
Topic: Prisma Health and the Changing Healthcare Environment
Location: Greenville Memorial Hospital, Board Room (701 Grove Rd.)
Friday, September 14, 2018
Topic: Creating Value in Health Care and the Patient Experience
Location: Greenville Memorial Hospital, Board Room (701 Grove Rd.)

Friday, September 21, 2018
Topic: Research and Workforce Development
Location: Greenville Memorial Hospital, Board Room (701 Grove Rd.)

Friday, September 28, 2018
Topic: Population Health: The Future of Health Care
Location: Greenville Memorial Hospital, Board Room (701 Grove Rd.)

Friday, October 5, 2017
Topic: Prisma Health in Community, Reverse Q&A, and Conscious Professionalism
Location: Greenville Memorial Hospital, Board Room (701 Grove Rd.)

Free parking is available in the north and south parking decks. 


Every Friday, September 7-October 5, 2018
8:00-8:30 a.m. – Breakfast and Networking
8:30-11:00 a.m. – Program

Members of the Tenth Class (Fall 2018)

Tom Bates, Herlong Bates Burnett Insurance
Kristin Bennett, Liberty Fellowship
Paul Brocklebank, CPCU, Canal Insurance Company
Johnny Mack Brown, Greenville County Sheriff’s Office
Coleece Posey Cochran, MHRD, SHRM-SCP, Bradshaw Automotive Companies
Marion Crawford
, Crawford Strategies
Felix Fernandez
, Global Revival Center
Shauna Galloway-Williams
, Med, LPC, Julie Valentine Center
Jessica Howard
, MPH, CHES, ScanSource, Inc.
Michael Jennings
, PhD, Furman University
William Johnston
, Southern First Bank
Brenda Luginbill, CB Events
Stacey Mills
, University of South Carolina Upstate
Chris Riley
, First Citizens Bank & Trust Company
Alissa Samoya
, DNP, RN, CPN, CNE, Greenville Technical College
Julie Turner
, Turner Agency Insurance

Members of the Ninth Class (Spring 2018)

Jason Cassidy, Furman University
LaShauna D. Harrison, United Way Oconee County, Inc.
John Harvey, ScanSource
Andrew Kurtz
, Kopis
Candice B. Lewis
, M.S.R.S., RT(R)(CT), Greenville Technical College
Phillip Liston
, GHA Board of Trustees
Glenda ManWaring
, Centre Stage
Jessica Minor
, PhD, Bob Jones University
Victoria Turgeon
, PhD, Furman University
Julie Vidotto
, EdD, OLLI at Clemson
Wendy Walden
, Greenville Technical College

Members of the Eighth Class (Fall 2017)

Cedric Adderley, S.C. Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities
Luigi Bergomi, Saati Americas Corporation
Rev. Sean Dogan, Long Branch Baptist Church and GHA Board of Trustees
Stinson Ferguson, J.W. Woodward Funeral Home
Leah Garrett, Watkins Garrett Woods Mortuary and GHA Board of Trustees
Dexter Gourdin, Michelin North America and St. Anthony of Padua Catholic Church
Whitney Hanna, Greenville County Schools
Rubi Jorgensen, Jorgensen Learning Center
Sheila Lischwe, PhD, Clemson University
Jacki Martin, Riley Institute at Furman
Tracy Murphy, MD, SC DHEC
Melissa Overman, DO, SC DHEC
Tim Reed, Upstate Angel Network and Prisma Health Board of Directors
Kelly Scheib, Tindall Corporation
Mike Winiski, Furman University

Members of the Seventh Class (Spring 2017)

David Barrett, PhD, Clemson University
Teri Brinkman, Greenville County Schools
Sandy Brown, Junior League of Greenville
Mary Campbell, The Cliffs
Mike McGirr, Feed & Seed
Laura Beth Medley, Canal Insurance
Erik Mizell, Foster Victor Wealth Advisors
Dean Oang, LS3P Architects
David Pereira, Fluor
David Sawyer, The Cliffs Club
Kevin Taylor, Bob Jones University
Kathleen Valentine, PhD, Clemson University
Melanie Vanderpool, Astellas Oncology
Bob Wilson, Sargent Foundation
Teresa Wilson, Sargent Foundation

Members of the Sixth Class (Fall 2016)

Kristin Austin, Furman University
Ann Bryan
Connie Carson
, Furman University
Andrea Cooper
, Upstate Forever
Megan Dotson
, Greenville Swamp Rabbits
Maurie Lawrence
, Wyche P.A.
Marc Metcalf
, Upstate Alliance
Kirby Mitchell
, South Carolina Legal Services
Eric Muth
, Clemson University
Cory Patterson
, Haynesworth Sinkler Boyd, P.A.
Diane Perlmutter
Carlos Phillips
, Greenville Chamber of Commerce
Ruth Richburg
Sherri Taunton
, Astellas Oncology
John Warner
, Concepts to Companies, LLC
Sally Wills
, LiveWell Greenville

Members of the Fifth Class (Spring 2016)

Dan Adams, The Capital Corporation
Robert “Bud” Bierly, Furman University
Jim Davis
Dave Firstenberg, Canal Insurance
Phyllis Henderson, Greenville Legislative Delegation
Coby Hennecy, ETV Endowment of South Carolina
Doug Hoffman, AFL Global
Tanju Karanfil, PhD, Clemson University
Darryl Nance, Greenville County Schools
Deb Osborne, Susan G. Komen
Shannon Pierce, CareCam Health Systems
Laura Ringo, Partners for Active Living
Renae Wentworth, EdD, Bob Jones University
Nika White, Greenville Chamber of Commerce
Phil Yanov, Greenville-Spartanburg-Anderson Technology Council

Members of the Fourth Class (Fall 2015)

Mike Baur, ScanSource
William Bridges, The Graham Foundation
Leslie Bailey Calicutt, Vic Bailey Automotive
Lillie Hall, DHEC Upstate
Kathy Headley, Clemson University
Jeff Herman, Wagner Wealth Management
Brian Hersey
Hank Hyatt, Greenville Chamber of Commerce
Mary Lou Merkt, Furman University
Wayne Roper, SCBIO
Cherington Shucker, Greenville Center for Creative Arts
Fabian Unterzaucher, Westin Poinsett
Seph Wunder, Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, PA

Members of the Third Class (Spring 2015)

Marty Bauer, The Iron Yard
Michael Bolick, Selah Genomics
John Boyanoski, Complete Public Relations
Craig Brown, The Greenville Drive
Matt Dunbar, Upstate Carolina Angel Network
Monroe Free, Habitat for Humanity of Greenville County
Matt Gevaert, PhD, KIYATEC
Rob Hoak, TD Bank
Hasker Hudgens, The Equipping Center Church
Tammy Johnson, Liquid Catering
John Kimbrell, Greenville Chamber of Commerce
Marianne Pierce, PhD, Furman University
Joe Schofield, Capital Design Associates
Julio Sotero, Redemption World Outreach Center
Tom Strange, St. Jude Medical
Brett Wright, PhD, Clemson University
Hubert Yarborough, Propel HR

Members of the Second Class (Fall 2014)

Dr. Phillip Baldwin, Bethlehem Baptist Church
Dr. John S. Beckford, Furman University
Jonathan Coleman, Laurens County Economic Development Council
Mark Farris, Greenville Area Development Corporation
Jimmy Fowler, Countybank
Dr. Ron Fulbright, USC Upstate
Lisa Green, Cancer Society of Greenville County
Steve Johnson, Creativasc
Sandra Jones, Foxwood Hills
Evelyn Lugo, American Cancer Society
Chris Manley, Engenius
John Moore, Greenville Chamber of Commerce
Mike Pennington, Rhino Concessions and FunnelDelicious
Dwayne Wilson, Fluor Corporation

Members of the Inaugural Class (Spring 2014)

Scot Baddley, YMCA of Greenville
Larry Dooley, Ph.D., Clemson University
Zach Eikenberry, NEXT High School
Sam Erwin, The Palmetto Bank
Alan Ethridge, Metropolitan Arts Council
Clark Gillespy, Duke Energy
Curtis Johnson, Valley Brook Outreach Baptist Church
Stephen Jones, Bob Jones University
Jil Littlejohn, Urban League of the Upstate
Bill McCrary, William Barnet & Son, LLC
Scott Muse, Hubbell Lighting
Liz Seman, Furman University
Steven Skinner, M.D., Greenwood Genetic Center
Katy Smith, Piedmont Health Foundation
Jeremy Stuart, Ph.D., MPH, Selah Genomics
Peter Waldschmidt, Gnoso, Inc.
John Wheeler, Ph.D., Furman University